Life after Qcodo

thread: 7 messages  |  last: about 2 months ago  |  started: friday, june 13, 2014, 4:10 am pdt

#1  |  neuroticimbecile (Manila) Philippines
Friday, June 13, 2014, 4:10 AM PDT

Hi All,

I'm still hoping for the resurrection of Qcodo, but that seems highly unlikely.

Just curious as to where you guys have you moved on to.
Which framework are you using nowadays?

Thanks.

#2  |  apselico (Trujillo, PE) Peru
Wednesday, June 25, 2014, 7:07 PM PDT

I think mane people are using qcubed.

I still think that qcodo is a great framework but without an active community there is not hope.

#3  |  neuroticimbecile (Manila) Philippines
Thursday, June 26, 2014, 10:25 AM PDT

Thank you for the reply.
I'm also using qcubed on my latest project.

#4  |  David M. Clark (Berwick, PA) United States of America Financial Contributor
Thursday, July 3, 2014, 7:56 PM PDT

I have been developing  qcubed for several years.  Don't expect much help over there. It does have some nice features but pretty much moved to github and asking question via a forum does not seem to exist any longer.  Consequently I came back to qcodo to see if it has kept up with the new PHP versions and the rest of the changes.  

So it appears that these two really great frameworks are destined to die from lack of updating to stay with new php versions.  One of my hosting companies recently made php 5.4 the base and said 5.5 within a year.   That move has forced me to make some changes to many functions ( especially on my older applications).  To get all of our users updated has taking several weeks and some early qcodo apps pretty much had to be re-done because there was so many places where 5.2 was not fussy and 5.4 is quite a bit more fussy.

The good thing is that I have tried several other frameworks and none come even a little bit close to Qcodo and Qcubed. I am not a framework developer, I am more of an appliance operator but both frameworks are so easy to modify and add functions to.